The Cavendon Women [ A Book Review]

Standard

Cavendon Women

For many pages the different point of views (POVs) distracted me with my fancies taking a liking only to Cecily Swann. [Cecily and her lover inspired one of my poems.] I guess it is the author’s way of introducing the characters but it encouraged me to take so many breaks between the first 125 pages. However, I came across this sentence “things were not going to be fine. Storms clouds were gathering over Cavendon and trouble was brewing,” and voila I braced myself for delicious excitement and scandal.

Yet, something strange happened, the story became exciting but after several pages fell back to talks of blue eyes and lavender, bluish colour flocks. So I took another voluntary break but came back to find all the promised brewing trouble and I found it. It took me half the novel but when I got to the juice, I could not stop drinking. By then I added Dulcie  and the Earl to my interesting POV list and their mouth did not disappoint. I had no desire for voluntary breaks anymore with talks of foreclosure, police, death, Shakespeare, art gallery, pregnancies, divorce and many more.

The Cavendon Women is my first and only read of Barbara Taylor Bradford, so I wonder if my assessment to her writing applies to her other Cavendon stories. She has that rapids movement style of telling the story: a monotone  for a while but with outbreaks of ‘this is getting somewhere.’ Very much like the upscale culture/life of the Inghams, whilst they had that sort of refined charm, it is their loyalty to their family, the Swanns and the caring nature to whom they that make them appealing. Similary, the author writing style though on the verge of simply recounting fashion and eye colour, there is this likability and sort of association to some characters which made me want more of the story. There is that way she presents details about the Swanns and the Inghams which shows a continuity of future stories. At times, I wanted to dismiss the story as boring but the subtle way of creating mystery made me desire more.

In my opinion,this story appeals to certain readers, the type into life after the first World War: the roaring 20’s. The author gives several accounts of the changing economic and social life of London and its suburbs : dismantling of gentry, hairstyles, fashion, dancing, women and employment, marriage, sex, divorce etc. It is sort of a history on the culture of postwar.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Books Into TV Shows/ Top 5 Wednesday | Yelhispressing

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

