Top 5 Wednesday: Books Without Romance

Standard

Top 5 Wednesday

Hey book people, what’s good? It is Wednesday again with another Top 5 Wednesday. Yay! Today we talk about

July 5th: Books Without Romance
— A few (very, very few) people complained about the “shipping” topics lately, so I thought it would be good to talk about books that don’t have a romantic subplot! This is a really hard one, so if you can’t find any, you can talk about some where the romance is super super minor. Like barely mentioned… at all…

Let us dive into:

1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
One of the stories that I enjoyed the most and the child narrator enhance the story. When I learnt that a new book of Harper Lee was due, I was ecstatic. However, when I understood that it is actually the story the author wrote and To Kill A Mockingbird is the edited version, my hesitation to read the ‘new book’ grew because I’m terrified  it will taint my To Kill A Mockingbird.

2. The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born by  Ayi Kwei Armah
One of the most graphic descriptions of personal disappointment, poverty and struggle that I have read. The author Ayi Kwei Armah pens the story of a man’s [name never mentioned] interpretation of living in Ghana after Independence. The narrator’s tale is compelling and coarse at times but that made it more engaging and demanding me to read more. Although some aspects of the description were gross, they were a reality that I understood and once lived. Cutting that detail from the story would be taking out the essence of a painstakingly quest for the man to keep toiling and to keep his family alive.

3.The Secret Garden by  Frances Hodgson Burnett 

Heart-warming, soul turning, emotional healing blended in the midst of an alluring moor and a beautiful garden.I felt like my heart went through a healing process reading about Mary and Collin’ s journey to peace and happiness. It is so important to point out how the author showed that the children could not glow on the outside without changing their insides. Mary and Collin first had to change negative thoughts to positive and learn to act kindly and pleasantly to others. The transformation was so beautiful that I had my hand on my heart with a smile on my face reading the last few chapters. Collins call  it magic, I call it inner peace but whatever name anyone calls it, everyone was affected. At first I felt I had to keep my eyes on Dr. Craven but even he too got caught in the miracle of good change. It was a combination of goodwill brought with Mary, Dickson and Martha.

4. Martin Luther King Jr.  by Rob Lloyd Jones
I have heard and read of many accounts of people moved with tears or weeping because of a story in a book but I cannot remember ever experiencing the same. When I picked up Martin Luther King Jr. by Rob Lloyd Jones for my January Theme Read 2016, I did not expect to turn the last page with tears in my eyes, a lump in my throat and inhaling to prevent my tears from falling. I do not understand my reaction because it is my second time reading (first time in 2009) and I do not recall feeling these emotions.

5.Winnie-the-Pooh  by A.A. Milne
When Edward the Bear a.k.a Winnie the Pooh says to Christopher Robinson “I am foolish and deluded and I am a bear of no brain, ” (character two) it is a true representation of his character. Pooh bear is the master of the stories so funny and at times having me shaking my head. Whilst Pooh Bear takes the cake for ridiculous experiments, Eeryore is Captain of Team Depression. Rabbit has a little more sense and Owl thinks himself philosophical. It is many stories to stir up a sense of adventure especially for younger children. I am so excited for the ‘Christopher Robinson’ movie!

Notewell: Many of the descriptions for the stories are part of my book Reviews posted on here(blog) or on Goodreads.

I hope you have fun reading for this Top 5 Wednesday 🙂

     


Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

