Top 5 Wednesday/ Books You Felt Betrayed By

Standard

Top 5 Wednesday

Hello book world, we are having another go at Top 5 Wednesday with:

March 15th- Books You Felt Betrayed By
–Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small

Let us dive into it?

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
“Is that it?” I said after finishing the story. How can a book which features on 98% of Classics books to read, fell so flat. I expected more, I needed more. I needed Gatsby to be more than a love-sick puppy and I needed Daisy to just be more than she is and for the love of narrator will  Nick grow a pair and stick up for himself.At least he had a shred of humanity in the end.

2.Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Every time I read Pride Prejudice whether as a whole or passages, I feel a let down. Jane Austen is my favourite author and I do not understand how she allowed the unison of Mr. Darcy and Miss Elizabeth Bennett in that manner. I understand not liking crowds especially when one is accustomed to small gatherings but did not someone teach Mr.Darcy how to talk to a lady in spite of her less prosperous inheritance. Furthermore, I am a smart mouth so I cannot fault another who is bless (or not) in that department. Yet Elizabeth spends all this time denying liking Mr. Darcy because he dissed her (Hey I would too) but allowing a smooth talker like Wickham to almost snare her ( yet trapped her sister) and then viola she is in his district and suddenly she realizes he is a catch. Then,  Mr. Bingley –  although one of the sweetest darlings- need to stand more in his belief and quite letting his best friend to almost cost him, his heart. Okay I am going to stop but gosh knows I have more to say. However,maybe something is wrong with my logic because P&P 2005 is actually my favourite movie. Go figure!

3.Tess of the D’Urberville by Thomas Hardy
Damn it Hardy, you could have given Tess a share of victory. She is determined and strong-willed, crying but dusting off and walking for all those miles only to go back at it and having men torment and torment her very existence into tragedy. Not flipping fair!

4. Little Women by Louise May Alcott
I will age and wither as the grass but I will stick to my notion that Theodore aka Teddy and Jo were meant for each other. I have not read the story in years and I am still in my feelings any the time the name comes up.How can the author lay down such a foundation between the two and just rip it them apart. How can (sob in between) she do that!

4 responses »

  1. At the end of this, I literally said “oh My God”, I was just complaining to mu sister recently about how I am still hurt and haven’t gotten over that part of “Little women”, and to think he ended up with “Amazing Jo”s sister instead, Not cool Louisa may.

    Like

  2. I really really disliked Tess of the D’Urbervilles, and how awful is Tess’ fate? I definitely felt betrayed by that book too. I wasn’t a fan of the Laurie-Amy relationship in Little Women either.

    Like

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

