Favourite Polarizing Books/ Top 5 Wednesday

Standard

Top 5 Wednesday

Hello book lovers, I greet you in the name of Top 5 Wednesday on this eighteen day of January two thousand and seventeen. Today we look at:

January 18th: Favorite Polarizing Books
–These are books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. Pick some of your favorites that fall into this category.

Let us dive into it:

1.Pride and Prejudice by  Jane Austen

The most popular of JA’s stories and  now that I am rereading- after a 2 year pause of her  collection- I suspect it will tied for my least favourite. In addition, my hunch is if I keep on rereading I may end up disliking the premise. It quite ironic I feel this way about the book when Pride and Prejudice 2005 film adaptation is my favourite movie.

2.To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
I am really smitten over this story and I suspect it has more to do with the narrator Jem Scout. I believe following the story through her eyes and smart mouth exposed issues of poverty, racism and family relationship in a profound way that perhaps no other narrator could achieve. Previously I was extremely excited about reading Harper Lee other novel but since a few articles showed me that To Kill A Mockingbird came as a result of an editor’s urging to edit an original script. I am very concern that Atticus Finch and Jem Scout would no longer look the same in my eyes. Therefore, I have put off reading ‘Go Set A Watchman.’

3.Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
I realize that most persons either love/like or hate/dislike Bronte’ s dark commentary on Love and Family Relationship and the effects of wealth and poverty on families. I am not sure if its because I studied the book for English Literature that I have a partiality for the story but nevertheless I do highly favour Wuthering Heights. It is a plot so ripe in revenge, selflessness and selfishness cushioned around Healthcliff and Catherine tumultuous journey to peace.

4.Your Captivating Heart by Stasi Eldredge
I keep reading of the raving highest quality reviews for this story and I honestly just do not understand where they grew root. I read the book twice to give it a fair chance but still the concepts just seem bland and disconnect. It certainly did not help me restore or connect any dots to the glorified place that women supposedly should attend. If you are looking for Christian for women about Grace, beauty and willingness maybe it will work for you.

5.The Raven and Other Poetry by Edgar Allan Poe
It was just plain boring, boring yet thousands delight in the skill of Poe’ s hand especially in this poetry collection.

 

 

7 responses »

  1. Do not read “Go set a watchman”, I repeat, do NOT read it. Unfortunately, curiosity got the better of me, and I read it and was thoroughly disappointed in the entire book. I couldn’t understand how someone who wrote a masterpiece could write such book. And then I read the articles too, and realised it was actually supposed to be the “first draft” of to kill a mockingbird.

    Like

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

