The Classics Club 50 Question Survey [Part One]

Standard

 

 

 

1.Share a link to your club list.

Classics Club is a “A Community of Classics Lovers; The Classics Club hopes to unite readers who blog about classic literature and inspire people to make the classics an integral part of life! The Classics Club is a club created to inspire people to read and blog about classic books. There’s no time limit to join and you’re most welcome, as long as you’re willing to sign up to read and write on your blog about 50+ classic books in at most five years. The perk is that, not only will you have read 50+ incredible (or at the very least thought-provoking) works in five years, you’ll get to do it along with all of these people. Join us! We’re very friendly.”

My list of books is one of many.
2.When did you join The Classics Club? How many titles have you read for the club? (We are SO CHECKING UP ON YOU! Nah. We’re just asking.) 🙂

I joined the Club in October 2015. I have read three (3) books from my list but I read other Classics not on my list.

 
3.What are you currently reading?

I am currently reading Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. The book is not on my Classics Challenge list but I am reading it for Jane Austen month and for The Women’s Classic Literature Event.

 


4.What did you just finish reading and what did you think of it?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It is not on my Classic Challenge list but it is for my personal Jane Austen month read. If Pride and Prejudice did not convey the social set up of the time: Entailment, Marriage in Gentry Society etc,, I would dislike the story. It is my 2/3 read and after every read the story bothers me even more.
5.What are you reading next? Why?

Mansfield Park, Sense and Sensibility, Emma or Lady Susan all by Jane Austen to continue my Jane Austen readathon for December.

6.Best book you’ve read so far with the club, and why?

Although Persuasion by Jane Austen is my favourite read so far, I also enjoyed Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.
7.Book you most anticipate (or, anticipated) on your club list?

I am not certain of the “most” anticipated because I am excited to read all but I chose David Copperfield  by Charles Dickens because I am so eager to read more books by Dickens.
8.Book on your club list you’ve been avoiding, if any? Why?

I am not avoiding any.
9.First classic you ever read?

I am not sure what Classic read first because I was reading these stories as a child not knowing what ‘Classic’ meant at that time.
10.Toughest classic you ever read?

Immediately Bleak House  by Charles Dickens comes to mind. The chunks about ‘Jarndyce and Jarndyce’  came off as a tough enigma.
11.Classic that inspired you? or scared you? made you cry? made you angry?

A Classic which inspired me is Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. After reading I feel it is even more important to be nice to people just for the sake of being nice. To value even more nature and its healing power.
12.Longest classic you’ve read? Longest classic left on your club list?

The longest classic I have read is Bleak House by Charles Dickens and the longest classic on my list is War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
13.Oldest classic you’ve read? Oldest classic left on your club list?

The oldest Classic I have read is The Republic by Plato and the oldest Classic left on my list is War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy
14.Favorite biography about a classic author you’ve read — or, the biography on a classic author you most want to read, if any?

Jane Austen: Her Homes & Her Friends (Illustrated Edition) (Dodo Press)by Constance Hill
15.Which classic do you think EVERYONE should read? Why?

Everyone has different taste in books, so I do not think I have read that one Classic that I would recommend to everyone.
16.Favorite edition of a classic you own, if any?

I am not an edition/publisher girl. Additionally I am not a reader who holds different editions of the same book.

 

17.Favorite movie adaption of a classic?

Pride and Prejudice 2005. It is quite ironic that the book makes my eyes roll but I love this version on screen.
18.Classic which hasn’t been adapted yet (that you know of) which you very much wish would be adapted to film.

At the moment I cannot think of any Classic that is not already a film adaptation.
19.Least favorite classic? Why?

I do not have a least favourite Classic so far because I feel I want to read much more of these types of stories to make that decision. Maybe at the end of 2017 God willing, I may make that decision.
20.Name five authors you haven’t read yet whom you cannot wait to read.

1.Roald Dahl

2.Thomas Hardy

3. Georgette Heyer
21.Which title by one of the five you’ve listed above most excites you and why?

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl because the film adaptations are  great! I like the storyline and I can just imagine the book being equally exciting!
22.Have you read a classic you disliked on first read that you tried again and respected, appreciated, or even ended up loving? (This could be with the club or before it.)

No
23.Which classic character can’t you get out of your head?

There are a few: Pip from Great Expectation, Anne from Persuasion
24.Which classic character most reminds you of yourself?

Anne Elliot from Persuasion by Jane Austen

 

25.Which classic character do you most wish you could be like?

There are a few characters who remind me of myself but I do not want to be like anyone (at least now that I typing) because I would have to embrace everything that they go through. No way!

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

