Favourite Non-Canon Ships/ Top 5 Wednesday

Standard

Top 5 Wednesday

Good morning Wednesdayers, how is it in the Book World on your end?  Today we are talking about love, yes love and no it is not February. Now, let me be indiscreet to say that the word “Ship” or “Shipping” always strike me as  teenager language, I prefer saying  love interest and I love talking about characters I wish ended in forever.

 

October 19th: Favorite Non-Canon Ships
–These are the couples you love, but they never got together in canon (canon meaning: what actually happened in the text). Or that did get together, but weren’t together in the end of the series. Or a couple you ship but it’s actually impossible for them to be together because they are from different worlds, franchises, etc. Let your shipper heart run wild. I know mine will.

Let us dive into it:

Jo and Teddy from Little Women by Louisa M Alcott

I was so disappointed when they both married other persons and not each other. I will always dislike the ending of the story because of this romantic/disappointment. I felt that that they were meant for each other based on their emotional and loving connection but the writer had other plans.

Marianne and Willoughby from Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Willoughby is one of Jane Austen’s devious heroes that I just cannot hate. I had so much high hopes for Marianne and Willoughby together because I felt there was a love that could endure and it did because look how Willoughby behaved when he found out that Marianne was sick. Do not get me wrong I find Colonel Brandon a gentleman but I just saw W& M as ideal.

Heathcliff and Catherine from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Why did Bronte keep Heathcliff and Catherine apart for she knows very well the two share a passion so strong that even death could not quell that dangerous flame. Catherine was Healthcliff antidote and he was her drug. As worrisome as it may sound, if the two were given a chance in peace half the sick shit would not go down.

Thomas J and Vada in My Girl by Patricia Hermes

This is probably one of the cutest childhood friendship and I believe that if Thomas J had a chance at life, The Notebook would ask the two for notes [yes I know that is an exaggeration much 🙂 ]. You should see that teasing adventurous spirit, learning to accept and just plain old exploring summer together and I believe a mutual growing innocent love.

2 responses »

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

