Best Literary Hero & Heroine

Standard
Classics Books

“Reading” – Auguste Renoir (1890-1895) Via Classics Club

The Classics Club asks a question:

“Who is hands-down the best literary hero, in your opinion? Likewise, who is the best heroine?”

I honestly spend pockets of the last two days thinking about my best literary hero/heroine leaning more on the classic side (since it is a blog dedicated to classics) and I am unsure. Even when the question ask “in your opinion” my mind still kept reeling because I kept thinking of all the hero/heroine of books I have not read but their summaries seem amazing and even the film adaptations of books, I have never read. I went further and thought should I choose my favourite hero/heroine for the best because they are my favourite or the best even if I dislike the character?

However, part of life is making decisions so I am not staying on the book fence with this question. I made a decision.

Best Literary Heroine

Jane Eyre  from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

A young woman with passion, conviction and the determination to stick to her morals even when it put her in utter misery and harms way. A determined and compassionate person who moved me to wonder about  my compassion when I disagreed with her and some of her methods, not once did I find her annoying. She is brave and just a heroine with qualities of a hero for Victorian times.

 

 

Best Literary Hero

Philip  Pirrip aka Pip of Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

One of the greatest advantage for Pip is following him on his journey from a boy to a man.  A flaw character   and I admire that quality, although many say Dickens characters are far from reality. Pip learns the lesson that things are not always what they seem and although he is angry, he turns around with a subdue spirit asking for forgiveness from the people he treated different. What I  found amazing is he willing to love a girl who  is  deliberately cruel and he still does not hate her after he learns the story behind her friendship (or lack there of) with him. When Pip gained money, he almost lost his way but his paths took him to riches of character, of purpose, of compassion…


Who is your favourite literary hero/heroine or do you think is the best literary hero or heroine? Tell me below in the comments section.

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

