Appreciating Books/ Top 5 Wednesday

Standard

Top 5 Wednesday

Happy Wednesday morning dear readers, it is lovely to have you for another Top 5 Wednesday meme. Today I will share with you books that I am thankful for since they influenced my reading choice or made me fall even more in love with a particular aspect of  the arts. I do not only love books: the way they smell, feel under my touch but I love reading so I am happy to make a formal tribute and say thank you to five books. Bare with me, I am not coco for coco puffs but through reading, from a girl I found a best friend in books. Are you interested in participating in the weekly Wednesday meme? If yes  please do join us on the Goodreads Group.

Let us dive into it:

1.The Complete Novels of Jane Austen:

Jane Austen

 

Although I have  some of the stories as separate copies, I like the volume novel because it is easier to use if I am doing a project encompassing all the books. Although it is thick, it is a worth it fall on your nose hurts you for hours heavy book. The plus side of this volume is my introduction to Lady Susan which became one of my most like Jane Austen reads. I really appreciate Jane Austen style of writing because of the wit fuse with the type of characters in a 19th century European setting. Jane Austen writing to me is a sort of window looking into the middle class behavior of the Georgian/Regency Era. It is fascinating to me that Jane Austen style of writing became labelled romantic when her writing was more  a tamer version of  Violet, the matriarch of Downton Abbey.

 

 

 

 

 

2. A Gentle Feuding by Johanna Lindsey

A Gentle Feuding

 

A big thankful shout out for this novel for introducing me to historical romance. I know if you have read my other book memes and such you are probably saying “she sounds like a broken record” but still I have to give the book props. I like reading romantic stories set in a historical setting and A Gentle Feuding helped ignite that spark. Not just any spark but a fancy for Scottish stories of the Highlander, horses and some feud with the low lands. *smiles sheepishly*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Cinderella

Cinderella

 

It is probably one of my favourite fairytale story  because of the storyline of a girl rescued from the clutches of hardship.  I remember feeling comfort in the story creating that make-believe story that my Cinderella  ending would come one day, in that my dreams would come true. I love a Cinderella trope especially in films and it is because of the reading the fairy tale so many times. It gave me hope that better things will come some day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.  Caribbean Slavery In The Atlantic World Edited by Hilary Beckles and Verene Shepherd

Caribbean Slavery in the Atlantic World

Probably my historical best friend for all my core school/studying days. A huge thank you to the editors for putting together the main articles surrounding Caribbean History: Spanish, British, French, Dutch and Danish. Research was certainly easier and the volume is worth the price tag. Inside my copy look like an advertisement for all sought of  highlighters shades but hey it shows that I studied.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Sweet Valley High/Twins Series by  Francine Pascal

Sweet Valley High Books

Via etsy.com

What I do remember liking the most about the series was the atmosphere of Elizabeth Wakefield.  Oh the days my sister would tell me she rather Jessica and I stuck for Elizabeth and she was not boring. She loved hanging out with her friends and crushes but she had that passion for books and reading. Oh my goodness and she was a high school journalist, that was the coolest thing ever! I wanted to do just like her to write for my school and later become a writer/journalist but my school had no paper and I am still working on the writing part. Elizabeth made me feel comfortable in my world at a time my family was all for my sister because was more vibrant  and outgoing like Jessica.

 

 


 

What book do you remember as a child which influenced who you are today? Tell me about it in the comment section below.

4 responses »

  1. Oh, i remember reading all those sweet Valley high 😄 and also baby sitters club too. I think the top book which influenced my reading would be Enid Blyton’s maloty towers. Loved the idea of life living in an all girls hostel.

    Like

    • Oh my goodness was it the series where the girls went to boarding school. That was one of my favourite book trope as a girl (now that I knew that term): boarding books, hehe. I only read Babysitters Club just 2 or 3 years. When I saw it in my little sisters books I grabbed it because I have heard so much about around thaf time period.

      Like

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

