Classics Book Tag

Standard

I am so excited for a Book Tag which finally speaks to my book shelf. It is the Classics Book Tag originally from It’s a Book World.  In the words of the  author:

I realised there weren’t any tags about classics on booktube so I thought: hey, let’s create one! I absolutely love classics. Unfortunately I didn’t grow up with reading classics, so I just started reading them last year. That’s an other reason why I wanted to create this tag! So many people have had to read classics in high school, but they haven’t talked about them on booktube.

So Let Dive into it:

 1. An Overhyped Classic You Didn’t Really Liked:

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I just did not get why thousands of persons are so enamoured with a story of a man being told how to use his money. He then taught the lesson of love and selfless through some ghost escapades.

2. Favourite Time Period to Read about:

The Victorian Era and Georgian Era in British History, basically the 18th and 19th centuries. I like stories with heroine and hero in refined society but  novels with overcoming poverty, sought like a rag to riches theme, pulls me in.

3. Favourite Fairy Tale:

I really love the Cinderella story, so much that I am in love with so many film adaptations (albeit how cheesy they are ).

 

4. What is the most embarrassed classics you have not read yet:

Gone With The Wind or 1984. I feel every classics lover, their grandmother and her goat have read these two novels but me.

5. Top 5 Classics You Would Like To Read (soon):

 

6.Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

I have not read many modern adaptations of classics. Out of  those few, the Austen Series by Debra White Smith stands out. I have only read four of the six novels and they were enjoyable.

7. Favourite movie version/tv series based on a classic:

Although I feel that Pride and Prejudice is Jane Austen most over rated book, I have a thing for the 2005 adaptation. It is a mixture of the actresses and the actors, sound and scenery.

8.Worst Movie to Classic Adaptation:

1987 Northanger Abbey jumps to my mind. Oh my goodness! People think 2005 P&P took too many liberties, wait till you see this adaptation of Northanger.

9. Favourite edition(s) you would like to collect more classics from:

To be honest I am not a publisher or edition girl but I would love to own a first edition of Persuasion by Jane Austen.

10. An underhyped classic you would mention to anyone:

I know Jane Austen is popular  but one of her novels/epistle Lady Susan remains in the shadow. Although there is 2015 film adaptation which will generate some interest in the book. I came across a list of underhyped classics but  I have not read any from the list.


What is your favourite classic book or perhaps  you have a favourite author? Let me know in the comments below. Also, I urge all classic lovers to do the tag. I plead with the people good with creating tags, please do some more with older books in mind. Or perhaps questions geared towards books that are not trending/popular.

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

