Book Tag: 10 Most Influential Books

Standard

Many months ago , I began reading Book Tags on and off WordPress and it is now one of my pleasure readings: I Love It! Today, I am shaking off that hesitant spirit to try the tags which I felt  strayed [many] towards books/series geared mostly to a certain audience and books I have not  read. My first book tag is 10 Most Influential Books .  Listed below in no particular order are 10 books which influenced my taste in reading, my outlook on social problems, my moral compass[or lack of] and the quirky things that make me, eh me :).

1. Blank Notebook/Journal

green-notebook

A  few or  many blank sheets from notebooks or fancy journals played a huge role in my quest as a writer [never mind that I am not an author]. My journey as a blogger began many years ago when I started writing about my day or on any particular thought  but I did not know it would lead to a blog. I guess it was practise but I still scribble in my blank notebooks. It was my outlet to breathe, something to keep me calm and too collected. My words became friends and they held my secrets, creating a live- able world.

2. Gentle Feuding by Johanna Lindsay

The Gentle Feuding

A Gentle Feuding is the first Historical Romance novel that I can remember reading, although at that time I did not know of  the genre . It is a genre that usually opens many discussion over what is included and what is subtracted, to keep me sane I sometimes call them Period Novels [I digressed there ;)]. Although I would forget the author, I would remember many details of the story and it is this particular story which made me fall in love with love stories set  way back in the day, Scotland Highland men riding for life on the real horse powers, clan feuds, some alliance marriages[volunteering all the better], old castles and towers etc.

3. Caribbean Slavery In the Atlantic World, edited by Hilary Beckles and Verene Shepherd

Caribbean Slavery in the Atlantic World I fell more in love with History when I opened this text  a thousands times from Secondary School to University. It is the most comprehensive collection of articles concerning the Caribbean from the First People to the Sugar Revolution that I have read. It is a must read for anyone desiring some knowledge for not only the English islands but the Spanish, French and Dutch. I must admit that I am getting excited from remembering numerous times I quoted several of the authors or carrying the heavy text around. It is a beautiful text of historical explanations which made  academic life cooperative, my pencil and highlighters fell in love at first read. 😛

4. Complete Collection of Jane Austen

Jane Austen: The Complete Collection

Although I studied Sense and Sensibility at A ‘Level English Literature, I did not go crazy for Jane Austen until many years later- starting from my university days. I am not sure if Jane works made the time period [Regency Era] attractive or the time period made Jane Austen works attractive for me. However, I became obsess with JA that I binge read and reread her works over several months period but the craziness did not end there. I research all film adaptations and modern films based on JA work and since then, I gradually tick off the list. JA made me appreciate sarcasm, wit and satire to a level which may frustrate people close to me, I love what sarcasm does to people. When you say Jane Austen, I get so excited and her novels are  the few stories that I ever reread.

5. The Chrysalids by John Wyndham

the chrysalids

I cannot remember the outcome of David’s story or  what caused the different mind action but what I do remember changed the way I viewed the mind. I wanted to possess telepathic powers back than and it is one “super power” I still desire. The mind became a fascinating thing and I realize the power the brain controls. David made me believe that telepathy is a real thing and if that makes me crazy, then coco for coco pops. I am always interested in reading on how the mind works, what make it work the way it does, sometimes I may not understand the different theories but it never dims my interest to know more.

6. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Great Expectations

Although I have read many stories of hardship, poverty and betrayal, Great Expectations is the novel that brings me back when the going gets rough. It has that humbling effect and a reminder that things are not always black and white and moving on with life is better than mourning forever. It is the novel which made me desire more of Dickens’ pen.

7.  Worship  In Song published by The Bible Advocate Press

Worship In Song

It is a collection of songs written by people of different backgrounds but mostly from a point of suffering to joy, achieving the ultimate peace, crying out for a solution and many other subjects of emotional roller coaster. I grew up singing many of the songs and sometimes just reading them as poetry. I have not opened my copy in a long time but I cannot erase from my mind many of the songs which brought me comfort in bleak situations or helped celebrate my joy. Since music is a huge art in my life, those songs formed part of my rearing. It is always interesting researching the story behind the hymns.

 8. The Holy Bible                                                                                                                                                                  

The Bible

Although I may not adhere to all the principles of this book now, it is the book which guided my moral compass for many years. It helped shaped my spiritual, mental and physical developments such as the food I eat, the way I dressed, the way I responded to dating and courtship and forming a relationship with God and Jesus. It was probably the most influential book for many years because I took my instructions and advice from its chapters.

9. The Healing Touch by Norma Dearing

10 Most Influential Books

It is the most powerful, effective and gut wrenching words of healing that I have read; no other book comes close to the way the author broke down each section on forgiveness, generational curses, abuse, rejection and unhealthy relationships. It felt like whilst you are reading, you begin feeling lighter because you suddenly understand why you feel a certain way and the steps to take to get out of the rut. The explanations make you admit that everything is not rosy and it is ok to quit the tough act for a dose of serious healing.

10. Diaspora by Egan Greg

10 Most Influential Books

Diaspora made me realize that I am not capable of responding to hard-core Sci-fi in a positive way, therefore I stay clear of that genre. It makes no sense to read a genre you do not like just to flood the gates with negative views. Thanks Egan Greg :P.

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

