These Demons

Standard

Demons plaguing lately,

they will not let me be.

Very insane, plainly.

~*~*~

“Away,” I say bravely.

Yet they persist, oh sigh-

demons plaguing lately.

~*~*~

Sometimes I think maybe,

I can bomb them, kaboom!

Very insane, plainly.

~*~*~

There they are, so vaguely

pretending friendliness- say

demons plaguing lately

~*~*~

see them lurking, safely

trying to skin deeper.

Very insane, plainly.

~*~*~*~

But am holding, sanely

to some light hope but the

demons plaguing lately

very insane, plainly.

~*~*~*~*~*~*

Post One: National Poetry Month 2015

I came across the Villanelle form on 3skay’s blog and I became intrigued. So I did some more reading and eventually wrote the above poem. Basically the Villanelle [for some reason it reads like vanilla in my head] has 19 lines: 5 stanza are tercets and one stanza is an aquatrain. This poetry form has no established meter but 19th century poets used trimester or tetrameter [I chose this one]but in the 20th century most poets used the pentameter. For further details on rules and regulations, feel free to follow the Villanelle Form link.

2 responses »

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

