Appreciating Jane Austen: Part 2

Standard
Jane_Austen

Source: http://i825.photobucket.com/albums/zz173/ emilianozapata333/Jane_Austen.jpg

Shortly before sleep yesterday, I thought since I shared my review of Jane Austen’s seven main novels, I should share my general views on the rest of her work today.

 The Watsons

The Watsons unfinished piece was just an interesting enough writing in my humble opinion. The love triangle in the story did not stir me with a vengeance. I do not believe my judgement is influenced by the fact that the novel is incomplete, I know how the story would end. Well at least I think I would know based on Mr. Austen-Leigh’s explanation of Jane Austen confiding to her sister Cassandra details on how the novel would end. It is true she may have revised the story as she did to her other novels but The Watsons did not excite me tremendously.

 Sanditon

Is it me or Austen wanted to show ridiculous Sir Edward Denham unintelligible comment were at times? Oh this incomplete novel held my interest. From the questionable ill disposition of three of the Parkers siblings to the inclusion of a different rich Lady, in the name of Miss Lambe. The appearance of Miss Lambs reflects Austen’s attention to the social and economic changes in English society. At that time period England profited from enslaved sugar production in the West Indies. Hence, there were many Creole English families in the islands. It is just interesting to read about Austen inclusion of such life in Sanditon and how the others characters respond to the West Indians

Juvenilia Volume III

Of the two stories Catharine Or The Bower stands out for me. Catherine strikes me as one of the few of Jane Austen female characters who does not breath solely for clothes, high society.

Juvenilia Volume I

My favourite of the three Juvenilia. Very comical and full of drama. For example from Frederic and Elfrida: “She accordingly fainted and was in such a hurry to have a succession of fainting fits, that she scarcely patience enough to recover from one before she fell into another.”
LOL! Some of the short stories are full of mischief,The Beautifull Cassandra. Cassandra is daring! Oh you must read this Juvenilia if you only desire to read one.

 Juvenilia Volume II: Better known as Love and Freinship

There is a love for fainting in Love and Freinship and Lesley Castle. When Lesley Castle got interesting it ended.

My favourite is The History of England. I like the twist; the nonfiction/ non academic tone.

A Collection of Letters is interesting. There are familiar names such as Dashwood and Willoughby from the major novels. Each letter is similar to an excerpt for a promising story.

For The Female Philosopher, I have mix reviews.For example, whilst the First Act of Comedy was under developed and it lacked direction; A Tour Through Wales though short seems like a promising beginning of a story about Wales natural beauty and character.

Poems

Her poem to the memory of Mrs. Lefroy is the one who stands out for me. It is so touching- heartfelt.

One response »

Please Do Share What Is On Your Mind?

